6 Ways to Cheer Yourself Up

Truth be told, I’ve been feeling quite stressed and generally down recently as I have quite a lot on my plate at the moment, along with preparations for the Commonwealth Powerlifting Championships in South Africa. These are a few things that I find help to cheer me up when I’m feeling down, grumpy and stressed.

  1. Take a long hot shower or bath
    Unfortunately I don’t have a bath in my current flat but a long hot shower is also nice. Take the opportunity to shave, exfoliate and wash your hair with your favourite products.
  2. Apply a layer of fake tan
    I know this sounds silly but applying a bit of colour to my pale, office sheltered skin makes me feel so much better about myself – I just feel like I look healthier!
  3. Cook your favourite dinner
    Cook yourself a yummy dinner that you can enjoy eating and look forward to – none of that Tupperware!
  4. Take a selfie
    Again I know this sounds silly but I find I feel much better and self confident in myself if a take a cheeky selfie!
  5. Write down three positives aspects of your day
    This is something that I learnt from attending the #GirlGains events. ‘There is something good in every day’ and this task helps to clear your mind of negative thoughts.
  6. SMILE!
    It’s so easy to have a pity party but that won’t make you feel any better! Smile – whether it’s to a stranger on the train or to your family and friends.
Leave a Reply

