Oatein Brownie, Flapjack and Cookie Review

After being disappointed with my Salted Caramel Cookie, Oatein contacted me and asked if I would be interested in reviewing a sample of their products.

White Chocolate Brownie

When I opened the brownie, I was greeted with a familiar small. It smelt and tasted like white chocolate protein powder which by no means is a bad thing but I did find it a bit overpowering. The texture of the brownie was quite dense but not at all dry. I thinkΒ the brownie is more of a blondieΒ and I don’t think I’d buy a whole box of these personally.

Macros 254 calories, C26.5, F8.6, P17

Rating 6/10

IMG_0700

Cookies ‘n’ Cream Brownie

The cookies ‘n’ cream brownie was quite similar to the white chocolate one in texture. I didn’t think it tasted that much like cookies ‘n’ cream but I preferred it to the white chocolate flavour. Both flavours of brownie tasted incredible when heated in the microwave.

Macros 250 calories, C24.5, F8.7, P17

Rating 7/10

IMG_0690

Blueberry and White Chocolate Cookie

So this cookie surprised me. It tastes like a blueberry muffin and has re-ignited the blueberry muffin obsessed I once had. The texture is soft and crumbly like a normal cookie. I would definitely buy a box of these in future – well done Oatein, you got it bang on here!

Macros 307 calories, C30.4, F12.3, P16

Rating 10/10

IMG_0688

Strawberry Cheesecake Flapjack

I have become a bit wary of strawberry flavoured protein products after previous reviews. The texture of the flapjack was nice, dense and oaty. The flavour was not too overpowering and I was thankful when I didn’t have a lingering artificial, sickly taste of strawberry in my mouth afterwards. I enjoyed this more than I expected and I would be interested to try the other flapjack flavours as I do prefer chocolate flavours to fruit flavours.

Macros 302 calories, C38.1, F7.9, P18.7

Rating 7/10

IMG_0689

Okay, so Oatein have redeemed themselves after the disappointment of the salted caramel cookie. I really want to try the other flavours now and I have a feeling I may end up ordering…

Oatein products are available from their website hereΒ as well as from many other major sport nutrition websites (e.g. CSN, Protein Pick and Mix).

Leave a Reply

