Jude’s Ice Cream Review

Jude’s kindly offered to send me some ice cream to try. I jumped at the opportunity after sneaking in the Brown Butter Pecan ice cream into my Mum’s shopping trolley in Waitrose over Christmas and devouring it. One afternoon at work, I received a call from reception. I went down and Laura from Jude’s has arrived with a box full of ice cream which I shared with some of my colleagues (safe to say I’m a favourite now)!

Brown Butter Pecan

As I mentioned previously, I tried this flavour over Christmas and I fell in love with it, announcing to my family it is my absolute favourite ice cream now – not a statement to be taken lightly! In my head the flavour is like a pecan blondie. The ice cream is smooth and sweet. It has pecan quarters evenly distributed  and has delicious swirls of caramel which entice you further into the tub. I was surprised that it was one of the flavours among the last to go in my office so I encouraged one of friends who was having a stressful afternoon to try it. Safe to say that he also fell in love with the flavour.

Rating – 10/10 – my favourite, my bae and not for sharing sorry.

img_8640

Peanut Butter Chocolate Ripple

As a peanut butter lover, I couldn’t wait to try this flavour as they didn’t stock it in my local Waitrose. Although I found it in my parents local Sainsbury’s, it was the day I was leaving my parents’ house to return to London so it seemed pointless to buy it if I wasn’t going to be there. This ice cream isn’t as sickly sweet as the Ben and Jerry’s peanut butter flavours and I think it’s almost more sophisticated. The ice cream is packed full of fine peanut pieces which remained crisp and crunchy despite being embedded in ice cream. The chocolate ripple is a delightful surprise which complimented the nutty ice cream perfectly. The ice cream definitely exceeded my expectations and I would definitely buy it in future.

Rating – 9/10

Gin and Tonic

I’ve never tried gin and tonic flavoured ice cream before and I was intrigued to see what it tasted like. It was nice to try a mouthful of this flavour but I don’t think that would be able to eat a whole tub of it as it is quite an acquired taste. The mini tub of ice cream was tried by 5/6 people in my office with mixed opinions. I think that it did taste like gin and tonic as did others. As discussed with Laura when she delivered the ice cream, I agree that this flavour would be interesting to try as a sorbet.

Rating – 4/10

img_8639

Flat White Coffee

I love coffee but I don’t usually go for coffee flavoured products. I tried a mouthful of the coffee ice cream and it was so much nicer than I expected. The coffee flavour is definitely there but it’s not too overpowering. I think that this flavour would go well with a dessert such as a brownie. The rest of the mini tub of ice cream was demolished by my manager… If you love coffee flavoured products then you’ll absolutely love this!

Rating – 7/10

Salted Caramel

I love salted caramel flavoured products – especially ice cream. I’ve tried Jude’s Salted Caramel ice cream before and I think it is quite possibly my favourite brand currently on the market. The ice cream has the perfect balance between sweet caramel and salt, along with a silky smooth texture. I’m rating this ice cream lower as I don’t think it is as inventive as the other flavours, such as the Brown Butter Pecan or the Peanut Butter Chocolate Ripple.

Rating – 8/10

img_8641

Overall, I really enjoyed the Jude’s ice cream and I will continue to sneak into my Mum’s shopping trolley when I visit in future (sorry Mum)! In my opinion, from best to worst:-

  1. Brown Butter Pecan
  2. Peanut Butter Chocolate Ripple
  3. Salted Caramel
  4. Flat White Coffee
  5. Gin and Tonic

Jude’s ice cream is available from several supermarkets including Sainsbury’sWaitrose and Ocado.

Leave a comment