Champneys Spa Day

Last weekend I went to Champneys, Tring, for a spa day with my mum and sisters. I organised it as an opportunity to bring us together as we are all living in different places which means it can be hard to find time when we are all free. I actually managed to find the spa days on Groupon for slightly cheaper than usual but it was still in the price range of a special treat! One of my sisters and my mum had already been to Champneys for a spa day several years ago but I wasn’t old enough to go with them at the time (yes, a very long time ago) so it’s something I’ve wanted to do for many years!

When we arrived at Champneys, we were promptly greeted and ushered to the front desk where the itinerary for our day was explained to us. We were also given our complementary flip-flops! The staff were lovely and led us to our light breakfast which was first on the agenda.

img_7871

I was so impressed with the breakfast buffet. There was a range of fresh fruit, greek yogurt with a berry compote topped with granola and smoked salmon and cream cheese bagels. To drink they had multiple teas, coffee, orange juice, cranberry juice and a ginger, cranberry and apple drink. My favourites were the smoked salmon and cream cheese bagels and the ginger, cranberry and apple drink, both of which were divine.

After breakfast, we went and found the lockers which we had been allocated for the day. The lockers contained our Champneys bath robes/dressing gowns which most of the guests spent all day in – including us! The lockers were plenty big enough for our bags and coats but the only problem we had was that my sister’s locker was jammed. After finding someone at reception to unlock it, we got changed and went to the swimming pool.

img_7801

The swimming pool was empty when we went in and we never found it to be busy (with the exception of a fitness class in the pool) which meant that you could have a leisurely swim. My mum, myself and one of my sisters also had Thalassotherapy in the Thalasso pool included in our day. The Thalasso pool had five stations which had water jets in different places and of different styles. During the Thalassotherapy treatment, we rotated between the different stations. It was quite relaxing having the jets massaging your body while having a chat! The spa kindly allowed my other sister to swap her Thalassotherapy treatment for a facial as she is pregnant and it is not recommended during pregnancy. After the Thalassotherapy, we went in the jacuzzi which was outside. This was my favourite out of the ‘pools’ as the air was cold and fresh but the jacuzzi was boiling hot – perfect.

img_7806

After drying off, we went to lunch. All of the meals were balanced and healthy but still plentiful. The lunch buffet was beautifully arranged with an array of hot dishes, bread, soup, salads and desserts. I really, really enjoyed the lunch. The food was so delicious – I only wish I had a second stomach. My favourites were the fresh crusty bread with whipped beetroot butter, the lamb and apricot tagine with couscous and the chicken fajitas with guacamole. From the puddings, my favourite was the lime and coconut rice pudding which I am desperately going to try and recreate!

Once we had finished all of our helpings of lunch, we went to the Terrace cafe for hot drinks. There was a bit of a mix up and we ended up with three drinks instead of four and the lady behind the counter wasn’t particularly helpful or in a rush to serve anyone. Despite this, my hot chocolate was perfect and warmed me up as I hoped it would. As you can imagine, we were all feeling quite full after all the food so we went for a walk to explore the grounds. The walk was refreshing and it was so relaxing to be in the countryside without a busy road in earshot.

img_7811

Our next treatment was a 25 minute massage. The lady who did my massage was lovely and made me feel so comfortable. The heated massage bed was like a massive hug and I didn’t want to get up after! I felt that 25 minutes is definitely not long enough for a massage and I felt the massage could have been firmer even after telling masseuse to be so. I thought it was very well organised that the spa managed to book the four of us to has massages at the same time as it meant that we could organise our day as a group.

We also booked additional treatments while we were there. One of my sisters and I had manicures and my mum booked a facial. I thought the ability to book more treatments on the day was handy and it meant we could fully indulge in the spa experience.

spa

As part of the spa day, fitness classes were also included. Our set lunch time and massage times meant that we were limited to what we could do. I would have liked to have gone to Pilates and Fighting Fit but it would have meant we that we would have rearrange our lunch and our treatments (not worth the hassle). To end the day, we did all go to a Stretch and Relax class. This class was a combination of yoga and stretching which was taught at a level accessible to all. The instructor was brilliant and kept on reminding us to work at our own level.

Overall, I would recommend the Champneys spa day and I hope to return. The whole experience oozed luxury and class. It was the perfect opportunity to relax and spend time with my family (with the except of my poor dad). A spa day would make an expensive but amazing Christmas present *cough cough, hint hint* (I’m so subtle). You can find out more about the Champneys spa days on their website.

 

Leave a Reply

