EQ Nutrition Pre-workout+ Review

EQ Nutrition sent me two sample sachets of their pink lemonade pre-workout+ to review.

 

Ingredients

Pink Lemonade Flavour
Dextrose Monohydrate, Creatine Monohydrate, Citrulline, Malate, Arginine AKG, Maltodextrin, Beta-Alanine, Taurine, Acetyl L-Tyrosine, Inulin, Flavour, Citric Acid, Caffeine, Fructo Oligosaccharides, Colour (Beetroot Red), Sweetener (Sucralose).

 

Nutritional Information

Nutritional Information Typical Values Per Serving (20g) Pink Lemonade Flavour
Per Serving (20g)
Orange Flavour
Energy (kj)
Energy (kcal)
Fats (g)
 of which saturates (g)
Carbohydrate (g)
 of which sugars (g)
Protein dry basis (g)
Salt (g)
Active ingredients
Arginine AKG (mg)
Citrulline Malate (mg)
Beta-alanine (mg)
Taurine (mg)
L-tyrosine (mg)
Creatine Monohydrate (mg)
Caffeine (mg)
334
79
0
0
8.3
4.2
11.3
0
2000
2000
1600
1500
1000
3188
250
334
79
0
0
8.4
3.5
11.3
0
2000
2000
1600
1500
1000
3188
250

Price

This pre-workout is £34.99 for 500g and the 20g sachets are £2.99. I initially thought that this was quite expensive but I calculated that it is actually the same price per serving as my normal pre-workout and about the average price for this type of supplement. I would also be willing to pay more as it is informed sports tested for banned substances which is perfect for me as a competitive powerlifter. 

 

Review

Mix-ability and Taste

When I first opened the sachet and sniffed it, I wasn’t sure what to expect as there was no real ‘smell’ so to speak. The pre-workout mixed very well and there were no grainy gross bits at the bottom of my shaker which I have experienced with other pre-workouts. The pink lemonade flavour was very pleasant and sort of tasted like that posh lemonade that you get in expensive restaurants haha! I have to admit that it tasted far nicer than most pre-workouts that I have tried previously.

 

Results

As specified on the packet, I took the pre-workout 30 minutes before my session which was the last in my cycle and not an easy one at that! I didn’t feel any tingling sensation from the beta-alanine but I did feel more up for my session and alert. In my session, I managed to equal my all time squat PB of 82.5kg at a bodyweight of 46.7kg which is the most I have lifted after my injury. I also managed 4 sets of 5@70kg squats. I think that the pre-workout did help and I did not experience any crash after my session which has happened previously.

 

I plan to try the second of the two sachets after a week off taking any pre-workout supplement.


The EQ Nutrition Pre-workout+ is available to buy from their website here.
Leave a Reply

